Creatures of Murputja

29/10/2013 21:49

 

Personally I feel that I have done really well in relation to being here, out of my comfort zone and dealing with all the new information and ways of teaching. However there is one thing that I have quietly struggled with. I tried to get over it, I tried to ignore it, but I just need to have a rant and express how I am feeling.

So……

The things that I have found the most challenging, frustrating, irritating and absolutely hate the most…..are the flies. Hundreds of them! I brought stuff to spray on my body to keep them away, but I feel like that just attracts them more! I HATE, HATE, HATE THEM!!!!!! The worst is when you are outside and move your hand towards your back and then all these flies suddenly start flying around and you realize that they were all sitting on your back. YUCK!  There have been times where I have gone outside and thought ‘Hmm not many flies today, maybe ill be ok’  but then out of nowhere they appear. Whenever I am outside I feel like I am constantly doing the Macarena. Waving my arms around, flicking my pony tail to get rid of them like I am a horse or something. But the absolute worst thing of all is that on Saturday at the BBQ, I INHALED one. I know, gross! Just as it flew past my face I took a breath in. yep. It was in my mouth. A dirty, disgusting fly in my mouth. I was spluttering and spitting everywhere. But then again I am happy that it has only happened once….so far. Blugh sometimes feels like I can still feel it at the back of my throat.

But other than that, I am enjoying myself. I must also say that the dingo that is a pet is starting to like me. She lets me pat her and scratch behind her ears. I do feel sorry for the others I see. One is really skinny and just looks sad, but the teachers say that this one is still dangerous unlike the pet dingo and one other one. The Principal has his pet dog here and she is just gorgeous.  Having these animals around really helps me to not miss my fur babies not as much.

By the way the Pitjantjatjara word for Dingo is ‘Papa’

Sheri.