At Murptja :)

24/10/2013 19:45

 

So Tuesday  22nd was my first full day in the preschool. I got to see the routine and what learning took place and how it is learnt. It is very different to the city in the learning aspect and teaching aspect, but the same basic routine of breakfast free play, group time, fruit, outside play etc etc applies, its just that within that routine the way things like instructions are given and the way the children communicate with the teacher and other children is different. The other big thing is that there are AEWs working in the room. AEWs are Anangu Education Workers, they are mothers of the children who attend the school. They assist in the classrooms by translating instructions from the teacher to the children and do cultural things with the children to maintain their connection to the land and community. In the preschool they do group times in their language that can relate to the preschools current learning. For preschool children, coming to preschool or playgroup can often be the first place they hear and start to use the English language and so having and AEW can help the children adjust to the environment.

The children I have met so far are just amazing. I am starting to remember the children’s names that attend regularly and am starting to figure out who they are, so what kind of personality they have, who they get on well with etc. it is hard trying to communicate at times because of the language barrier, but often their body language can tell me what they are talking about or they may say one key word in English.

They really are amazing! They are so intrigued by things that I know some children may take for granted, and when they see that you are interested too they become even more excited and it is just amazing to see as a teacher.

Living out here has been pretty good so far. Its quiet and the mountains and landscapes are just amazing. I went for a walk tonight with Jess* and got some great photos of the land at sunset. Another exciting thing about being out here are the Dingos, well half-breed Dingos. There are two that regularly come around the school looking for food. One is a pet of one of the teacher and wears a collar and the other I think just hangs around.  One of them followed me to school on Tuesday, I think just to check me out and see where I was going. I think if I were to live here I probably would end up adopting one by accident.

On Wednesday 23rd, Jess* showed me a lot of admin stuff which was good because you don’t get to see that stuff at uni or on your placements…well I didn’t. So I saw how to enroll students, some planning, transition and Junior primary NIT planning, which I really appreciated seeing.

I have been to a whole school staff meeting (of four teachers, the principal and me) just a teacher meeting and a preschool staff meeting which is done through Polycom-all the preschool teachers login and every comes up on the screen like skype. Again it is really good to see these things.

I am really loving it here. It’s quiet, its beautiful, its different, its just….awesome. I really could see myself living and teaching here, but we will just have to wait and see.

Sheri :)